Subscribe via

Eukaryotic Microorganisms with Lab Samples

Eukaryotic microbes consists of: protists, animals, fungi and plants.

In this post, we will be looking at fungi (mostly molds and yeast), protozoan, and helminths.

Fungi are organized into two categories:

Ascomycotina (sac-like fungi such as penicillium, aspergillus, yeast) and zygomycotina (molds such as rhizopus stolonifer)

Fungal Anatomy

Yeast: Candida albicans


asexual reproduction- budding


asexual reproduction

  • sporangiospores (sac) zygomyces
  • chlamydospores (walled in)
  • conidiospores (no sac) ascomyces

Mold: Rizopus zygospore. Zygospore is where the cytoplasm of two mating strain fuses.

Ascomycotina: Aspergillus conidiophores

Mold: Ascomycotina: Aspergillus conidiophores

Molds: Penicillium: Conidiophore and Conidia

Please see the following pages for Protozoan Anatomy and Helminths

Leave a Reply